Turmeric Tea Recipe

Turmeric TeaI first heard about the benefits of Turmeric from Dr. David Servan-Schreiber’s book Anticancer: A New Way of Life.  At the time I was undergoing chemotherapy and wanted to learn everything about cancer and all the things I could do (in addition to chemotherapy) in order to help fight the beast that was killing me.   In reading David Servan-Schrieiber’s book I learned to cut out foods that feed cancer cells and substitute them with anti-cancer foods, one of them being Turmeric.  Turmeric’s key ingredient is called “Curcumin“which is known for its anti-bacterial and anti-inflammatory properties.  The effects of Turmeric are still being researched, but turmeric has been used for the following purposes:

  • fighting and preventing cancer
  • delaying Alzheimer’s disease
  • relieving pain from arthritis
  • controlling diabetes
  • lowering cholesterol
  • treating allergies

Dr. Servan-Schrieiber pointed out that mixing black pepper and olive oil enhances the effects of turmeric making it an even more powerful spice.  There are numerous of ways of incorporating turmeric in your diet and some even take supplements in order to treat certain conditions.  I prefer the natural way, using the spice in my kitchen to not only add flavor to my dishes but also my teas.  Although turmeric has an earthy flavor, I found that by adding honey and almond milk to it makes the tea creamy and delicious.  I enjoy drinking this tea everyday and I hope it’s anti-cancer properties keep me healthy for a very long time.

Turmeric Tea

(Serving Size: 1 cup)

1 cup of almond milk/cow’s milk/coconut milk

1 teaspoon of turmeric root or about 1 teaspoon of powdered turmeric spice

1/2 teaspoon of black pepper

1/2 teaspoon of cumin

1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of cardamon

1/2 teaspoon of coriander

1 teaspoon of honey or agave

Turmeric Tea is quick and easy to make.   If you don’t have turmeric root you can use the powdered turmeric spice.  First you need to bring your milk to a boil and reduce the heat as soon as it starts boiling and let it simmer.  I prefer Almond or Coconut milk when making my turmeric tea, but you might choose to make it with cow’s milk.  IMG_4786

In the meantime peel your turmeric root.   Try not to get your hands stained too much with this spice, it may leave you with yellow fingertips for days.  You may choose to wear gloves when peeling turmeric, since the stains are hard to get off your skin or if you are like me I just scrub my hands super hard with soap and water in the hopes of it coming of.
IMG_4797

Grate about 1 teaspoon of turmeric root into the simmering milk.  If you like turmeric as much as I do, then you can add more turmeric for an earthy flavor.  If you are using powdered turmeric spice you can add 1 teaspoon of the spice to the simmering milk.

Tumeric Tea Step 3

Add about 1/2 teaspoon of pepper and the remaining “C” spices:  Cumin, Cinnamon, Cardamon, and Coriander to the mixture.

TurmericMix

For a sweet flavor, add honey or even agave to your tea.

IMG_4815

Once you have all of your ingredients in the simmering milk, mix it well and often to avoid the spices from floating on the top.  This will make sure that all the ingredients are all mixed in evenly.

 IMG_4837

Simmer the mixture for about 5 minutes then strain the turmeric tea through a small strainer, to give the tea a smooth finish.  Although this step is not necessary, I do prefer it.   As turmeric and other spices heat up, they tend to clump up by creating a paste which tends to remain on the bottom of the pot.

IMG_4848

Your tea is done and ready to be enjoyed!

IMG_4895

