Mosquito Repellant- Free of Harsh Chemicals

Every year I get attacked by mosquitoes; as soon as I come out of my house they are waiting for me.  These blood thirsty creatures make my my life miserable.  I found a mosquito repellant formula that works quickly, is non-toxic and makes me less of a target for these nasty pests.

I turned to my favorite tea/spice/oil resource Mountain Rose Herbs in finding a solution.  Mountain Rose Herbs recommends an essential oil repellant formula created by Laurel Vukovic, August 2004, Herbs for Health.  I have modified this recipe a little, substituting lavender essential oil with lemon essential oil (see the recipe below):

Herbal Mosquito Repellant

Essential Oil Herbal Mosquito Repellant

1/2 teaspoon citronella essential oil

1/2 teaspoon eucalyptus essential oil

1/2 teaspoon lemon essential oil

4 ounces distilled witch hazel

Pour all of the ingredients found above to a 4-ounce spray bottle.  Shake the bottle in order to mix all of the ingredients.  Spray the mixture on yourself avoiding your eyes and remember to reapply the repellant every 2 hours or as necessary in order to keep mosquitos away.  

I purchased my essential oils and witch hazel from Whole Foods.  The essential oils are made by Aura Cacia and the witch hazel is made by Humphreys.  If this is your first time using and buying essential oils, I recommend reading Crunchy Betty’s 21 things you should know about essential oils.  Not all essential oils are what they seem to be and may not be as pure and effective as you might expect them to be.  Some essential oil brands might even posse health hazards.  Therefore, it is important to purchase high quality pure essential oils.

There are a number of other essential oils that repel mosquitos.  Any of the above mentioned essential oils can be substituted.  If you decide to substitute any of essential oils found above,  experience essential oil website provides a good listing of essential oils that repel mosquitoes.

This formula works great but you have to remember to reapply yourself with this mixture!

Do you have your own natural mosquito repellant that works for you?  If so, please share it with us.  We would love to hear your remedies.

Related articles

