Five Great Uses for Coconut Oil

Image

I first read about coconut oil a few years ago, while searching the Internet for ways to stop or slow down the progression of Dementia and Alzheimer’s Disease. According to some, taking a few tablespoons of coconut oil daily can slow down and/or reverse the effects of memory loss related to these diseases (see One wife’s crusade).

So of course, since after having a baby recently and having what some have called “mommy brain,” where mother’s tend to be a little more forgetful than normal, I decided to give it a try. So I decided to read more about Coconut Oil and found that although no conclusive evidence exists, taking the supplement was worth a try.

Although the effects of coconut oil on cholesterol may be controversial (see WebMD), I decided that it was worth the risk since my cholesterol levels are normal and I am fearful of getting dementia (I have an elderly grandmother who suffers from dementia).

I forgot to mention that I do not like the taste of coconut at all; however, I thought that if it can prevent me from having memory loss, it would be a risk I was willing to take. So, a few months ago, I decided to give coconut oil a try. I went to my neighborhood Whole Foods Market and bought Nature’s Way Pure Extra Virgin Organic Coconut Oil and I have to say that I love this brand. Since then, I have used coconut oil in numerous ways:

  1. I put one tablespoon of coconut oil in my smoothies; it gives the smoothie a smooth, slightly creamy taste that is quite enjoyable
  2. I include one or two tablespoons of coconut oil in about four cups of cooked brown rice, which tastes incredible and is probably the best rice that I have ever tasted
  3. I have used a small amount of coconut oil in my pan to cook scrambled eggs
  4. I have also used about a teaspoon of coconut oil on toast as a butter substitute (since palm derived oils are supposed to be better for your health than animal derived oils)
  5. I have regularly use about 1/2 cup of coconut oil as a deep conditioner on my hair (some people also use it to moisturize their skin, but I haven’t tried that yet and I’m not sure if I will)

While, I love using coconut oil in all of the ways that I mentioned earlier, using it in the cooked brown rice is my favorite!

IMG_4160

After regularly using the coconut oil, I have to admit that I am pleased with it and can barely taste the coconut, which is great! I plan on having my annual physical soon so I will learn if the coconut oil has affected my cholesterol levels soon enough. I will keep you posted.

