Sea Buckthorn: A Natural Supplement with Surprising Beauty Secrets

Common Sea-buckthorn berries at Vosseslag, De ...

Common Sea-buckthorn berries at Vosseslag, De Haan, Belgium (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Sea Buckthorn (Hippophae) is a shrub that bears orange fruit that is native to Europe and Asia. I first heard about Sea Buckthorn while watching the Dr. Andrew Weil on the Dr. Oz show. He appeared on the show to discuss how to reduce inflammation in the body and recommended taking a Sea Buckthorn juice elixer daily to reduce inflammation and improve overall health. According to Dr. Weil, Sea Buckthorn contains antioxidants and a high concentration of Vitamin C, among other things that work to improve our health.

Of course after seeing this episode, I made a bee-line over to Whole Foods Market and purchased a 32 oz. bottle of Genesis Today Sea Buckthorn 100. I chose this brand because the bottle contains 100% Sea Buckthorn Juice – no other juice added as with other brands. This product is pretty pricey at a little under $40, so I wanted to make sure it was 100% Sea Buckthorn Juice. Also, this product states on the label that it contains 30,000 mg of Sea Buckthorn in every 1 fluid ounce serving, so when compared to other brands/supplements, I was getting more Sea Buckthorn for my money.

So, a few months ago I started taking a variation of Dr. Weil’s Sea Buckthorn recipe that contains:

  • 1 tbs Sea Buckthorn Juice
  • 1tbs agave nectar
  • 8 oz water

I drink this juice one daily and although I can’t tell you if any inflammation is being reduced in my body I can tell you that my hair stopped falling out (I have a toddler and hair tends to fall after having a baby), my hair got noticeably thicker and my nails started growing faster. I love the results so far and will continue to take Sea Buckthorn for overall health.

Note: While I purchased and use the Sea Buckthorn juice, Sea Buckthorn oil is touted to have health benefits as well.

